As you know, you are required to carry auto insurance as a driver in the state of New York. It is critical to carry at least the minimum required coverage so that you can pay for damages in the event you are responsible for a collision.
Below, we’ve outlined the minimum requirements for auto insurance coverage in New York.
Minimum Required Auto Insurance Coverages in New York
In order to register your vehicle in New York, you must carry the minimum required auto insurance coverage. Failing to do so may result in suspended vehicle registration and driver’s license.
You must have liability auto insurance coverage. The minimum liability coverage required in New York is as follows:
- $10,000 for property damage for a single accident
- $25,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for death for a person involved in an accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for death for two or more people in an accident
In addition, it is required that your liability insurance coverage:
- Remains effectual during the valid registration period, even if the vehicle is not in use (there are special exceptions for motorcycles)
- Is issued in the state of New York by a company that is licensed by the New York State Department of Financial Services and certified by the NY State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
- It is never acceptable to purchase a policy out of state
- Is issued in the name of the person who registers the vehicle and stays in the registrant’s name at all times
In the Event of a Crash, We’re Here to Help
If you’re injured in a car accident through no fault of your own, you may be owed compensation. Our team is highly skilled in this area of the law and is ready and able to help with your case right away.
Call the Ozone Park lawyers at The Cassisi Law Firm today at (718) 524-3398 to speak with an experienced attorney about your case.